News Summary

  1. Home
  2. News & Events
  3. News

New Minnesota Supreme Court Historical Society Joins in Celebration of Sesquicentennial

A group of more than forty leaders of the Minnesota legal community have come together to form the Minnesota Supreme Court Historical Society. Modeled after the United States Supreme Court Historical Society, the newly formed nonprofit entity is dedicated to the collection, preservation, and promotion of Minnesota's judicial history, by supporting research, education, and publications. The Society will launch its activities with a presence at the Minnesota Sesquicentennial in May and the updated publication of bar memorials for all members of the Minnesota Supreme Court since its inception.  Educational projects and a Society website are under development.

The recently retired Associate Supreme Court Justice Sam Hanson serves as the founding Chairperson for the new charity. As Justice Hanson explains, "the Society provides the citizens of Minnesota with the opportunity to better understand and celebrate the contributions that the Judiciary has made to our State."  A large body of volunteers came together to launch the new organization. Hanson added, "the group was unanimous in concluding that a historical society was sorely needed and long overdue."  

In addition to Justice Hanson, members of the initial board of directors include a number of current and past members of the Supreme Court - Esther Tomljanovitch, Barry Anderson, Paul Anderson, and Helen Meyer.  The Chief Justice, Russell Anderson, serves as an ex-officio member.   Other former Supreme Court members serve in an honorary capacity. Hamline University School of Law Dean Jon Garon and incoming Hamline Law Dean Don Lewis also serve on the board of directors.